Knights of Columbus
Archbishop Neale Council, No. 2279
Instituted 19 June 1921
Home ChaplainGrand KnightDistrict DeputyEventsInsurance Membership Data Membership
Church Church 2 CommunityCouncil Council 2FamilyYouthBylaws 
Officer's DutiesHistoryHistory Page 2Useful Links

  • Curtis L. Birley, Jr. (June)
  • Matthew P. Carroll
  • Kenneth J. Cornet, II
  • Michael R. Easter (Monica)
  • Albert Elder
  • Leo K. Farrall, III
  • John Frere
  • Samuel P. Frere  (Doris)
  • John T. Gilmore (Cynthia)
  • Kendall W. Grote
  • John M. Gyorda, Jr. (Patricia)
  • Thomas L. Higdon, Sr.
Deceased members, the deceased spouses of members and Columbian Squires are remembered daily in Mass at St. Mary's Church in New Haven, Ct.  birthplace of the Knights of Columbus.
Deceased Members and Widows
  • James P. Jarboe
  • Louis P. Jenkins
  • Edward J. Kelly
  • Charles G. LaHood, Jr.
  • Francis N. Langley
  • George J. Leonard, Sr.
  • Thomas D. Maloney, Jr.
  • Robert E. Matula
  • Leon E. McClure (Diana)
  • Edward McKendree
  • James A. Mudd, Sr.
  • Thomas J. O'Rourke
  • James A. Petrousky (Linda)
Past Grand Knights
 *FDD = Former District Deputy
  • Carl R. Baldus, Jr.
  • George E. Barnes
  • Paul D. Brown
  • Carl E. Cooksey
  • *Harold R. Cooksey, FDD
  • Hugh C. Gardiner, Jr.
  • Clarence W. Hedden
  • Joseph B. Martin, Sr (Marie)
  • F. B. Matthews
  • Thomas P. McDonaugh
  • *C. William Nalley, FDD
  • Dr. Aubrey Posey
  • A. Frank Vacchiano
  • Rev. Aloysius T. Newman
  • Rev. Edward P. O'Connell, S.J.
  • Rev. Clement J. Petrick.
To view  listings of members in 1st, 2nd and 3rd degree and other groupings go to the Membership Data Link. You will need a password for this protected page which is for members only. Contact Gerry Brosco at for the password.
Father Edward P. O'Connell's Family
Photo taken at the repast and celebration of his life which was held in St. Ignatius church hall.
 Father Edward P. O'Connell, S. J. 84, a Jesuit priest who ministered for many years in Southern Maryland parishes, died March 30 of cancer at a Jesuit infirmary in the Bronx, N. Y.
Father O'Connell served most recently at St. Ignatius Catholic Church in Port Tobacco, where he was pastoral minister from 1994 to 2002 and associate pastor until earlier this year.
He had also served at St. Ignatius from 1979 to 1983. He taught religion at Archbishop Neale School in La Plata and was known for his efforts to reach out to local Native Americans at times incorporating their culture into the liturgy.
He helped rebuild Archbishop Neale School after it was destroyed by a tornado in 2002.
He served during the 1960's as pastor of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Mechanicsville and during the 1980's as parochial vicar at Holy Trinity Catholic Church in the District. His other assignments included parishes in Pennsylvania.
He was born in the Bronx and studied at the Novitiate of St. Isaac Jogues in Wernerville, Pa. In 1949 he graduated from the old Woodstock College near Baltimore where he received a master's degree in philosophy in 1950.
He taught for three years at Georgetown Preparatory School in Bethesda before returning to Woodstock College to study theology. He was ordained in 1956.
Survivors include three sisters and a brother.
Honorary Life Third Degree Knight with 56 years of continuous service.
  • Honorary Life Members (HLM)
  • Age 70 with 25 years of 
  • continuous service in the Order.
  • Priests and religious brothers are
  • automatically designated HLM.

  • Henry Albrittain
  • James Anderson
  • Anthony T. Barrasso, Deacon
  • Gerry Brosco
  • Kenneth Clark
  • Richard J. Clark
  • Bernard Cox
  • Garyton Echols
  • Edward Edelen
  • Hugh Gardiner
  • David Gardiner
  • Joseph Gardiner
  • Joseph Gragan
  • Albert Graham, Deacon
  • Andrew Havrilla
  • Gerald N. Higdon
  • Thomas L. Higdon
  • Salvador Jordan, Rev.
  • Donald P. Le Sage
  • Frederick MacIntyre, Rev.
  • William D. Mayer
  • Timothy G. Moore
  • John F. Mudd
  • Thomas F. Mudd
  • Samuel I. Plummer, Rev.
  • Philip Rigby
  • James Rosier
  • Edward Sanders
  • Robert  P. Seith
  • Joseph F. Shannon, Jr.
  • John Simpson
  • John Sprague
  • Michael St. Jaques (religious brother)
  • Lawrence C. Swink, Rev.
  • Dennis M. Sullivan
  • Henry Tolson
  • Leonard W. Winkler
  • Richard A. Winkler
Honorary Members (HM)
Age 65 with 25 years of 
continuous service in the Order.

  • John G. Burch
  • Richard N. Edelen
  • Carlyle J. Lancaster
  • James A. Mudd
  • Michael J. O'Toole
  • Michael O. Raymond
  • Paul W. Schlereth, Jr.
Fourth Degree Members
Assembly 382
  • Joseph P. Bowling
  • Greg C. Cross
  • Edward J. Edelen, III
  • James M. Hojnowski
  • Kirk Brad Howard
  • Matthew C. Laidley
  • David B. Newman, Jr
  • Terry D. Mosher
  • David A. Portner
  • Antonio J. Ribeiro
  • Humphrey D. Ridgely, Jr
  • Dennis M. Sullivan
  • Dale A. Thomas
  • James H. Witthar
     Assembly 1098
  • Gary M. Jackson
New Honorary Member, Noel Edelen, is presented his Honorary membership card at a recent council meeting at the Archbishop Neale School Grand Knight Mark Shutters. Noel has 33 years continuous service with the council. Congratulations Noel.
  • Romolo Rastelli (Anna)
  • Paul A. Ribeiro
  • John C. Ridgely
  • William F. Schrider
  • George H. Schuhart
  • George N. Schultz
  • Michael J. Sprague (Karen)
  • Reinhard H. Steinhauser
  • Scott Stuart, Deacon (Suzanne)
  • Ronald M. Taylor, Sr. (Geraldine)
  • Kenneth F. Thompson
  • John L. Yates (Elva)
  • William L. Yates, Sr. (Hester Ann)
     Assembly 383
  • Swink, Lawrence C., Rev